- The seven steps to compare
- Comparison table
An automatic expense tracker takes over some of the steps between paying for something and having that cost in your books: capturing the receipt, reading its details, pulling in card or bank transactions, matching the two, putting the cost in a category, routing it for approval and sending it on to your accounting system. Tools differ in which of those steps they automate, so this page compares eight of them step by step instead of ranking them.
Billed publishes this page. Each vendor feature, plan and price on this page is taken from the vendor's website, captured on November 1, 2026 (UTC). None of these tools was tried out for this page. Where a vendor's pages don't mention a step, the table says "Not stated": that means the pages we read don't say, not that the tool lacks it. Vendors revise plans and prices, so confirm the current terms on each pricing page before buying.
The seven steps to compare
Use these steps as your checklist when you read any vendor's page or run a trial:
- Capture: how a receipt gets in, for example a phone photo, an upload, a forwarded email or a text message.
- Reading details: whether the tool pulls the merchant, date, amount and tax from the receipt so nobody types them.
- Import: whether card or bank transactions flow in on their own, and from which cards or banks.
- Matching: whether a receipt is paired with the card or bank transaction it belongs to.
- Categorizing: whether the tool suggests or applies an expense category, and whether you can set rules.
- Approval: whether someone other than the spender has to sign off, and how the request reaches them.
- Export or sync: where the finished expense goes, such as your accounting software or an ERP.
A sole owner who pays with one card may only need steps 1 to 5. A team that reimburses employees may also want step 6, and whoever keeps the books may focus on step 7.
Comparison table
"Stated" means the vendor's own page, captured November 1, 2026, describes the step; the vendor sections below quote the exact words. "Not stated" means those pages don't say either way. Rows run A to Z by tool name and carry no ranking.
| Tool | Capture | Reading details | Import | Matching | Categorizing | Approval | Export or sync |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Brex | Stated | Not stated | Brex cards (see section) | Stated | Stated | Stated | Stated |
| Dext | Stated | Stated | Syncs with bank feeds | Not stated | Stated | Stated | Stated |
| Expensify | Stated | Stated | Stated | Stated | Stated | Stated | Stated |
| FreshBooks | Stated | Stated | Stated | Not stated | Not stated | Review step stated | Stated |
| QuickBooks Online | Stated | Stated | Stated | Stated | Stated | Not stated for expenses | Not stated |
| Wave | Stated | Stated | Stated | Not stated | Stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Xero | Stated | Stated | Not stated on its expenses page | Not stated | Not stated | Stated | Not stated |
| Zoho Expense | Stated | Stated | Stated | Stated | Stated | Stated | Stated |
The tools, in alphabetical order
Brex
From Brex's pages as captured on November 1, 2026:
- Capture and matching: its expense management page says "Employees simply text in a receipt and Brex auto-matches it to the right expense".
- What it covers: Brex says it automates the step "the moment the employee pays" for spending "across Brex cards, bill pay, travel, and reimbursements".
- Categorizing and export: the page mentions "sync to your ERP" and "AI-powered mapping suggestions, GL coding, and auto-categorization."
- Approval: "Brex auto-routes, approves, and enforces spend rules in real time".
- Plans (pricing page, November 1, 2026): Essentials at "$0 user/month" and Premium at "$12 user/month". Premium lists "auto-approval rules" and "Dynamic expense review chains".
Dext
From Dext's US pages as captured on November 1, 2026:
- Capture, categorizing and export: its US home page says "receipts, invoices, and expenses are automatically captured and categorised" and "then synced straight to your accounting software."
- Approval: the same page says "Approvals, expenses and payments all in one place."
- Import: it also says "Dext also fetches supplier invoices and syncs with your bank feeds."
- Reading details: the pricing page lists "Bank Statement Extraction" and "Line item Extraction" among its free credits.
- Plans (US business pricing page, November 1, 2026): the default view shows "$25.21 Per Month USD, Excludes Tax , $302.50 billed annually 250 Documents Per Month 5 Users". The price moves with a documents slider, and the page says plans are "Up to 20% cheaper with an annual subscription".
Expensify
From Expensify's pages as captured on November 1, 2026:
- Capture and reading details: its receipt scanning page says "SmartScan reads the merchant, date, total, and currency automatically." Digital receipts can also come in, since it says you can "automatically import digital receipts from integrations like Uber."
- Import: the pricing page lists "Personal card import" on the free Submit plan, and its plan comparison lists "Third-party card feeds and reconciliation".
- Matching: "The scanned receipt matches to the card transaction automatically".
- Categorizing: "Expensify uses your policies and past behavior to auto-categorize expenses as they're created."
- Export: "Scanned receipts sync to QuickBooks, NetSuite, Xero, and 45+ other platforms automatically."
- Plans (pricing page, USD view, November 1, 2026): Submit is "Free for all members", Collect is "$5 per member/month" and Control is "Custom pricing as low as $9 per active member/month". Collect lists "Expense and travel approvals" and "QuickBooks/Xero integrations". The page also says "Discounts are available for annual commitments and when using the Expensify Card."
- A conflict on the pricing page: the free Submit plan lists "Categories and tags". The same page's FAQ, answering "Is Expensify free for individuals?", says "Individuals can use New Expensify for free with unlimited SmartScans, but additional functionality such as expense categorization requires a paid plan." Ask Expensify which applies to you before you rely on free categorizing.
FreshBooks
From FreshBooks' pages as captured on November 1, 2026:
- Capture and reading details: its receipt scanner page says "Scan and save paper and digital receipts", "Auto-capture the merchant, totals, and taxes" and "Email receipts directly to your account to capture transactions".
- Import: its expenses page says "Connect your bank account or credit card to FreshBooks and say goodbye to manual entry."
- Categorizing: "The fastest way to log and categorize expenses in your account." and "Scan On-The-Go, Categorize Later". Both describe you assigning categories; neither says the tool suggests or applies them.
- Review and export: "Scanned expenses await your approval in FreshBooks", which reads as your own review step rather than a manager sign-off, and the page offers "On-Demand Bulk Expense Export".
- Plans: the pricing page showed a limited-time promotion when we captured it, so prices aren't quoted here. See FreshBooks' pricing page.
QuickBooks Online
From the QuickBooks pages as captured on November 1, 2026:
- Capture and reading details: its expense tracking page says "snap photos of your receipts and upload using the mobile app" and "QuickBooks pulls info like date, vendor, amount, and payment method from your receipts."
- Matching: "Then we match your receipts to existing expenses or create new expenses for you."
- Import and categorizing: "Connect QuickBooks to your bank accounts, credit cards, PayPal, Square, and more, and we'll import and categorize your expenses for you." It adds "Create custom rules to categorize your expenses".
- Approval: the page mentions "pay bills with approval workflows", which is about bills; it doesn't describe approval of employee expenses.
- Plans: paid plans showed a promotion when we captured the pricing page, so their prices aren't quoted here. The same page lists "QuickBooks Free" at "$0/mo" and a "Free trial for 30 days". See the QuickBooks pricing page for which plan includes which expense features.
Wave
From Wave's pages as captured on November 1, 2026:
- Capture and reading details: its receipts page says "Scan or upload receipts from Wave's mobile app, desktop, or email!" and "Our smart OCR technology extracts and organizes the data". It also says you can "bulk import up to 10 at once".
- Import and categorizing: the pricing page lists "Auto-import bank transactions" and "Auto-merge and categorize bank transactions" under the Pro plan, with a note that "Not all financial institutions are supported".
- Plans (November 1, 2026): the pricing page lists Pro at "$190USD/year Billed annually" and, under "Optional add-ons:", the line "Digitally capture unlimited receipts ADD-ON $8/month OR $72/year". The receipts page says "Mobile receipt scanning requires an active Wave Pro Plan ($16/mo) or Receipts Plan ($8/mo plus applicable tax)". The two pages name and price these differently; ask Wave which applies to you.
Xero
From Xero's US pages as captured on November 1, 2026:
- Capture and reading details: its expenses page says "Snap a photo of any receipt with the Xero Accounting app and attach it to your claim" and "Xero's document capture reads key details like the date and amount".
- Approval: "You review it, approve it, and the approved claim becomes a bill you pay like any other."
- Import: the expenses page doesn't cover card or bank imports; the pricing page lists "Reconcile bank transactions" among plan features.
- Plans: the pricing page showed a promotion when we captured it, so prices aren't quoted here. It lists "Employee expense and mileage claims" among plan features, so check which plan includes claims.
Zoho Expense
From Zoho Expense's US pages as captured on November 1, 2026:
- Capture, reading details and categorizing: its features page says employees can "Autoscan to extract expense details and categorize them automatically."
- Import and matching: "Fetch corporate card feeds directly from card providers like Visa, Mastercard, Amex, and HSBC" and "Zoho Expense automatically matches corporate card transactions with receipts or expenses for accurate reconciliation."
- Approval and export: "Add comments to expenses and track the approval status", and the reimbursement section says "Sync settlements with payroll and ERP software."
- Plans (US pricing page, November 1, 2026): Free at "$ 0" with "Maximum users: 3", "Receipt capture with AI-powered OCR" and "Accounting integrations"; Standard at "$ 3 per user/month billed annually"; Premium at "$ 5 per user/month billed annually". The page shows monthly and yearly billing and a "Free trial".
How to narrow the list
- Start with how you pay. If most spending goes on one company card program, look at tools that import or issue that card and match receipts to it. If spending is spread over personal cards and cash, put capture and reading details first.
- Count the people. Check per-user prices and user limits against your headcount, and note whether approvals sit on a paid plan.
- Check where expenses end up. If you already keep books in accounting software, confirm the tool exports to it, or use that software's own expense features.
- Read the plan as well as the feature page. Several features above sit on paid plans or come with limits such as users or documents per month.
- Run your own trial. Feed in a few real receipts from your own suppliers and check what the tool reads, how it categorizes them and what reaches your books.
Where Billed fits
Billed's expense tracking page says: "An expense in Billed records who you paid, when, how much and which category it belongs to, with the receipt attached to the same entry." It adds that "Billed's expense report can group your expenses by category", and that reports can be "exported for your accountant, bookkeeper or tax software."
For a broader look at expense apps for small businesses, see best expense tracking apps for small business.
When this guide isn't for you
This page compares what vendors say on their own websites on one date. It isn't a hands-on review, a ranking or advice on which tool suits your business. Large companies choosing travel and expense systems for many entities, or anyone needing a specific compliance standard, should ask the vendors directly and involve their finance team or accountant.
Related Articles
- Expense Tracking for Small Business: Methods, Tools, and Tax Benefits
- Best Expense Tracking Apps for Small Business in 2026
- Business Expense Categories: How to Organize Expenses for Tax Time
- What is an expense report?
Frequently Asked Questions
What does an automatic expense tracker automate?
It depends on the tool. The steps to compare are capturing receipts, reading their details, importing card or bank transactions, matching receipts to transactions, categorizing, approval and export to accounting software. The table on this page shows which of the eight tools describe each step on their own websites.
Which tools on this page say they read receipt details automatically?
Expensify, FreshBooks, QuickBooks Online, Wave, Xero and Zoho Expense describe this on their own pages, and Dext's pricing page lists extraction credits (pages captured November 1, 2026). For example, Expensify says "SmartScan reads the merchant, date, total, and currency automatically", and QuickBooks says it "pulls info like date, vendor, amount, and payment method from your receipts."
Which tools on this page match receipts automatically?
As of November 1, 2026, Expensify and Zoho Expense say they match receipts to card transactions, QuickBooks Online says it matches receipts "to existing expenses", and Brex says it "auto-matches" a texted receipt "to the right expense". The other tools' pages we captured don't say either way.
Is a free plan enough for automatic expense tracking?
Check which steps the free plan includes before you rely on it. On the pages we captured on November 1, 2026, some steps sit on paid plans or add-ons: Wave's receipts page says "Mobile receipt scanning requires an active Wave Pro Plan ($16/mo) or Receipts Plan ($8/mo plus applicable tax)", and its pricing page lists the add-on "Digitally capture unlimited receipts ADD-ON $8/month OR $72/year".
Did Billed test these apps?
No. This comparison uses each vendor's own website as captured on November 1, 2026. Run a trial with your own receipts before you choose.
